tribaltextiles.info

It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 1:31 pm

All times are UTC

Post subject: Re: Rungus 'tapi'
PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2004 7:30 pm 

Thanks again Pamela for the information. I apologize if some of my questions are a bit on the naive side but I am still learning with a long way to go.

If this is our "jacket" thread? I am posting a couple more that might be be of interest.

The first is of a childs's vest from the plains Indians of the US. Also probably early 20th century. I'm more of a basket and pot collector but bought this about 10 -15 years ago at auction because I also like beadwork. The flag symbols were common in the early part of the 20th century. Note also the French Fleur-de-lis. The French nuns taught the Indians how to do bead work so much of it shows strong French motifs as a result. Much like Indonesian Batik shows European bouquets, etc.

And to seque back to the Pacific work, I am posting two shell work jackets.

One was never cleaned before I got it. Not sure if the other ever was. I only had a shot of the back of the "dirty" one at this time. The jacket has a bark cloth interior lining. Somewhat unusual?

I am also posting front and back of what is likely a newer Iban jacket. Mid 20th century or perhaps earlier. It is interesting for its cleverly not quite symmetric symmetry.

A great book on Iban designs is: Basic Iban Design. Augustine Anggat Ganjing. Percetakan Dewan Bahasa dan Pustaka. Ministry of Education. Kuala Lumpur. 2001.

Are we building to the point where we can have an on-line "exhibition" of things as a museum does? With all the jackets, skirts, baskets, hats, etc., our forum members must have, there must be suitable and sufficient materials?

More work for Pamela.

Is there some easy way to switch the attachment order so as to follow the narration order? I note that the last in is the first out.

-John

Pamela wrote:
John.