tribaltextiles.info

It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 9:35 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: Dai tribe jacket
PostPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:37 am 

Dear forum readers;

Firstly, a very Happy New Year 2007! May the new year be another great year for us collectors in our search for good quality and good priced works.

Anyway, I have been collecting Han Chinese court and informal robes for a few years now and has recently started collecting tribal textiles specifically the minorities of China and Dayaks/Ibans of Eastern Malaysia. I guess the virus started when I visited Lijiang and Kuching recently. The plethora of extremely delicate and beautiful Miao, Yi, Dai, Dayak etc minorities textile specifically their robes/jackets/skirts/pua have open my eyes to the fact that incredibly beautiful textiles are not the speciality of more "civilised" society. Seeing what they can do, personally, the term tribal is an understatement; as "tribal" usually denotes or gives the impression of a less "civilised" society. In fact, their work can anytime compete with the court robes I have or seen.

In any case, I have recently seen in a shop a gorgeous indigo blue cotton jacket with motifs drawn using the wax resist dye method(batik) and applique cross stitch pattern. It looks very much like a western jacket with two long rectangular tails at the back. Something that orchestra conductors used to wear, I think.

According to the information written, the jacket is of the Dai tribe of Yunnan. I have tried doing some research but am unable to get anything specific to the Dai people or even a picture showing something similar to the jacket. The shop that carried the jacket does not allow any photographs to be taken, hence I am unable to show the pictures on this forum. I am very sorry but you would have to use your imagination a little.

Is anyone able to maybe post some pictures similar to what I have described or even a Dai tribe related textiles?

Thank you in advance.

Cheers,
Edwin